The final part in the latest Star Wars trilogy will feature the return of Billy Dee Williams as Lando Calrissian, as well as surprise announcements of Mark Hamill and the late Carrie Fisher returning as Luke and Leia respectively.

J.J. Abrams will be directing the movie after replacing Colin Trevorrow. Abrams directed ‘The Force Awakens’ and will cap off the trilogy. Rian Johnson directed ‘The Last Jedi’ to praise from critics, but a very mixed response from the fanbase. Fans may be hoping for Abrams to course correct from the ‘The Last Jedi’ and build upon the ideas he began is ‘The Force Awakens’.

The full cast list includes series veterans Daisy Ridley as Rey, Adam Driver as Kylo Ren, John Boyega as Finn, Oscar Isaac as Poe Dameron, Lupita Nyong’o as Maz Kanata, Domhnall Gleeson as General Hux, Kelly Marie Tran as Rose Tico, Joonas Suotamo as Chewbacca, Anthony Daniels as C-3PO, and Billie Lourd as Lieutenant Connix. Newcomers Naomi Ackie and Richard E. Grant will also be joining for the final entry in the trilogy. With the return of Billy Dee Williams as Lando Calrissian and Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker. Carrie Fisher will posthumously appear as Leia via unused footage from the previous entries in the trilogy, but her role may not be as major.

Disney has put other Star Wars projects on hold for the time being, mainly due to a rather poor box office reception for ‘Solo’, which means we may not see another Star Wars until Episode 9 is released. The movie is scheduled for release on December 20th 2019 and will start filming next week.

By Jimmy Ioannou

Images provided by Disney

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s