Bruce Wayne is Dead!

DC Fandome continues with another reveal, this time for WB Montreal’s Gotham Knights. The game takes place in an open-world Gotham City, where you play as Robin, Nightwing, Batgirl and Red Hood. It is seemingly a soft reboot of the Arkham series, or its own universe entirely; some character designs are clearly different from the Arkham versions, as well as some story elements revealed in the trailer which hint at a reboot. Catch the reveal trailer, along with the longer gameplay trailer, below:

“Batman is dead. It is now up to the Batman Family – Batgirl, Nightwing, Red Hood and Robin – to protect Gotham City, bring hope to its citizens, discipline to its cops, and fear to its criminals. You must evolve into the new Dark Knight and save Gotham from chaos. Your legacy begins now. Step into the Knight.”

“Get a glimpse of open-world Gotham City where Batgirl and Robin join forces to take on Mr. Freeze in one of several Villain encounters found within the city. They’ll use a variety of abilities, weapons, and unique combat moves to neutralize their foes.”

While Mr Freeze is shown as a villain in the gameplay trailer, many other villains have been teased at in the months preceding the reveal. The Court of Owls are set to be major villains in this game, and were hinted at both online and heavily featured in the trailer.

More details may emerge as we move towards the next generation of gaming later this year, but the game should be set for a 2021 release.

By Jimmy Ioannou

Images provided by Gotham Knights/Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s