Daleks, Cybermen and Colin Baker Return!

Season 22 has been confirmed as the next season of Doctor Who to receive The Collection treatment! This season acts as the first for Sixth Doctor Colin Baker who stars alongside Nicola Bryant as Peri. 

The announcement was accompanied by a new mini episode which acts as a trailer for the boxset and can be seen below:

Season 22 ran from 5th January to 30th March 1985, and shook up the format by having episodes be 45 minutes instead of the usual 25, resulting in a shorter 13-episode season which still comprised of six stories:

  • Attack of the Cybermen
  • Vengeance on Varos
  • The Mark of the Rani
  • The Two Doctors
  • Timelash
  • Revelation of the Daleks

Doctor Who The Collection Season 22 is packed with special features new and old including:

  • Brand New Documentaries: Including a Making-Of documentary for The Two Doctors, and a nostalgic trip back for Colin Baker and Nicola Bryant to Season 22’s filming locations.
  • In Conversation: Not one but THREE insightful feature-length interviews, with Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant and a surprise guest.
  • Behind The Sofa: New episodes with actors Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant, Terry Molloy, Peter Davison, Janet Fielding, Sarah Sutton, Sylvester McCoy and Wendy Padbury.
  • Extended Episodes: Including Vengeance On Varos, The Two Doctors (Part One) and Revelation Of The Daleks (Part One).
  • A Fix With Sontarans: The Doctor and Tegan battle the Sontarans in this special mini-episode.
  • Updated Special Effects: View Timelash with optional new effects
  • Exclusive New Audio Commentaries: With Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant, Alexei Sayle & Terry Molloy on Revelation Of The Daleks and Colin Baker, Janet Fielding & Gareth Jenkins on A Fix With Sontarans.
  • Immersive 5.1 Surround Sound: On Attack Of The Cybermen, Vengeance On Varos and Revelation Of The Daleks.
  • The Eternal Mystery: A brand new mini-episode of classic Doctor Who.
  • Studio Footage: Rare behind-the-scenes material from Vengeance On Varos, The Two Doctors, Timelash and Revelation Of The Daleks.
  • Convention Footage: Featuring actors Colin Baker and Jacqueline Pearce alongside producer John Nathan-Turner.
  • Rare Gems From The Archives: BBC archive material including The Colin Baker Years, plus content covering the promotion of the season and the controversial hiatus.
  • Radio Serial: Slipback, a six-part radio adventure.
  • HD Photo Galleries: Including many previously unseen images.
  • Info Text: Behind-the-scenes information and trivia on every episode.
  • Scripts, Costume Designs, Rare BBC Production Files and other rarities from the PDF Archive

Looking at the line-up the boxset is shaping up to be another must buy, and the prospect of having three In Conversation pieces to watch is exciting indeed.

Stay tuned for an in-depth review and unboxing when the set releases, which as of the publishing of this article is TBC, though the website which leaked its announcement stated a mid-March release. 

By HW Reynolds

Images Courtesy of the BBC

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s