With Goals from Paul Pogba, Kylian Mbappé, a penalty from Antoine Griezmann and an own goal from Croatia’s Mario Mandžukić. France have cruised to a hard fought victory against Croatia, despite a goalkeeping error by France’s Hugo Lloris which gifted Croatia their second goal of the game.

Croatia seemed to be the better team throughout the game, taking 14 shots compared to France’s 7 and having double the possession of the winners. But France were much more clinical in front of goal, despite controversy surrounding the free kick that led to the first goal as well as the Penalty decision, which came under review from VAR.

This is France’s 2nd World Cup final win, the other coming in 1998, when current French manager Didier Deschamps was a player in the squad.

Additionally, Harry Kane of England has been awarded the Golden Boot for his 6 goals over the tournament. While, the Golden Glove and Golden Ball awards are yet undecided. Goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois of Belgium and Forward Kylian Mbappé of France are the front runners for each respective award.

The next World Cup will take place in Qatar in 2022, and is rumoured to be played during the Winter, due to the temperature in the country.

By Jimmy Ioannou

Images provided by BBC/ITV/FIFA

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s